• Doctoral and other research degrees

The Faculty of Law at the University of Cape Town offers postgraduates an unparalleled choice of options in full- or part-time postgraduate studies. The Faculty has a long-standing reputation for academic excellence and an innovative and critical approach to the law, attracting students from many countries outside of South Africa. Besides working with top academics, students have access to world-class teaching and research facilities, including an extensive law library and comprehensive electronic databases. 

Research degrees include Master of Law (LLM) and Master of Philosophy (MPhil) by dissertation, Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil) by dissertation and Doctor of Laws (LLD) by dissertation or by published work. 

For more information please visit: www.law.uct.ac.za/law/postgradstud/info

  • Masters of Law 

The School for Advanced Legal Studies offers four different academic qualifications: the Masters of Laws Degree (LLM); the Master of Philosophy Degree (MPhil); the Postgraduate Diploma in Law (PGDip), and the Professional Masters Degree (LLM). These qualifications generally comprise a course work component and a research component. 

Further information about the School for Advanced Studies, please visit: http://www.sals.uct.ac.za/

There are several degree streams where tax law forms the main or supplementary components of the degree programmes. These programmes are:

  1. LLM in Tax Law
  2. Postgraduate Diploma in Law specialising in Tax
  3. LLM in Commercial Law
  4. LLM in the Law of Mineral and Petroleum Extraction and Use [see http://www.mlia.uct.ac.za/llm-law-mineral-and-petroleum-extraction-and-use